Skip to content »

Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award

Annually, DirectWomen awards the Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award to women lawyers who have served with distinction as independent directors of public companies and have worked to advance the value of diversity in board positions. This award is named for Retired Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor. An innovator and pioneer, she became the first woman justice in the Supreme Court’s history. The women honored with the Sandra Day O'Connor Board Excellence Award exemplify the manner in which Sandra Day O'Connor leads her life, paving new paths for the women who come after her. A selection committee chooses recipients who epitomize the spirit of DirectWomen and honors them and the companies on whose boards they serve for their achievements and commitment to promoting board diversity

The Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award is awarded to a woman who…

  • has earned a J.D. or L.L.M. degree,
  • has served with distinction on the board of a public company and
  • has advanced the value of diversity in the workplace.

Success Stories

Ann Harlan

Ann joined the board of the Gorman-Rupp Company in 2009. Learn more

Deborah Golden

Deborah Golden joined the board of Midland States Bancorp, Inc. in 2015. Learn more

Kimberly Ellwanger

Kimberly joined the board of Heritage Financial Corporation and Heritage Bank in 2006. Learn more