Skip to content »

Selection Process

2013 Honorees Mary Cranston and Gloria Santona

The Sandra Day O’Connor Board Excellence Award is awarded to a woman who…

  • has earned a J.D. or L.L.M. degree,
  • has served with distinction on the board of a public company and
  • has advanced the value of diversity in the workplace.

If you know of a woman who meets these criteria, and would like to nominate her, please email Beth Barefoot with a brief endorsement.

The DirectWomen Board Diversity Award, first awarded in 2015, honors corporations that have served as leaders in the effort to achieve board diversity, as illustrated by the critical mass of women directors on their boards and their strong commitment to diversity in the boardroom, the C-Suite, and the company.

The Distinguished Alumnae Award, first awarded in 2015, honors a DirectWomen Board Institute Alumna who exemplifies the talents and accomplishments of our Alumnae, and has joined at least one large corporate board since completing the Institute.

Success Stories

Connie Collingsworth

Connie joined the board of Banner Corporation in 2013. Learn more

Peggy Heeg

Peggy joined the board of Columbia Pipeline Partners LP in 2016. Learn more

Robin Walker-Lee

Robin joined the board of Rexnord Corporation in May 2015. Learn more